2013 Nobel Prize in Chemistry
And the 2013 Nobel Prize in Chemistry goes to.. Austria born American Martin Karplus (born 1930), South African Michael Levitt (born 1947), and Israeli Arieh Warshel. The three winners laid the foundation already in the 1970’s for the computer models that are used to understand and predict chemical processes. These computer models that mirror real life have become crucial in the advancement of chemistry research. All three of them have dual citizenships: Kurplus is American and Austrian, Levitt has American and British citizenships, and Warshel American and Israeli citizenships.
Did you know?
104 Nobel Prizes in Chemistry have been awarded between 1901 and 2012.
63 Chemistry Prizes have been awarded one Laureate only.
4 women have been awarded the Chemistry Prize so far.
One person (Frederick Sanger) has been awarded the Chemistry Prize twice, in 1958 and in 1980.
35 years was the age of the youngest Chemistry Laureate ever, Frédéric Joliot-Curie, who received the prize in 1935.
85 years was the age of the oldest Chemistry Laureate, John B. Fenn, when he was awarded the Chemistry Prize in 2002.
57 is the average age of the Nobel Laureates in Chemistry the year they were awarded the prize.
Source: www.nobelprize.org