This year’s Nobel Prize in Medicine goes to James E. Rothman, Randy W. Schekman, and Thomas C. Südhof. The trio wins the prize for their work on the transport system of our cells. Rothman (born 1950) is an American, as is Schekman (born 1948), and Südhof (born 1955) is German. They have solved the mystery of how the cell organizes its transport system. Randy Schekman discovered a set of genes that were required for vesicle traffic. James Rothman unravelled protein machinery that allows vesicles to fuse with their targets to permit transfer of cargo. Thomas Südhof revealed how signals instruct vehicles to release their cargo with precision.
Nine out of ten universities where most researchers who win the prestigious science prize can be found in the U.S. - USA's many Nobel Prizes