December 10 In Swedish History,
1901: The first Nobel prizes are awarded in Stockholm at the Kungliga Musikaliska Akademien (the Royal Swedish Academy of Music). The Nobel Committees, once they had its guidelines in place, had begun collecting nominations for the inaugural prizes.
A list of preliminary candidates was sent out, and then, on December 10, 1901, the fifth anniversary of Alfred Nobel’s death, the first set of Nobel Prizes was awarded to the following recipients:
Chemistry: Jacobus H. van’t Hoff
Physics: Wilhelm C. Röntgen
Physiology or Medicine: Emil A. von Behring
Literature: Rene F.A. Sully Prudhomme
Peace: Jean H. Dunant and Frédéric Passy

You'll find some footage with and on this year's winners at SVT, Swedish television or the official website of the Nobel Foundation:


We covered this year's winners here: Nobel Prizes 2012