Since its inception in 1901, there have been 851 Nobel prizes awarded to individuals and 25 to organizations. The Nobel Prize, widely considered the world’s most prestigious award, is awarded every year on Dec. 10 for achievements in physics, chemistry, physiology or medicine, economics, literature and peace. It is the legacy of Sweden’s Alfred Nobel, most known for his devoted study and invention of dynamite. At the time of his death on Dec. 10, 1896, Nobel, a chemist, engineer, inventor and entrepreneur, held 355 patents in different countries. Nobel Day has since then been celebrated in Stockholm, Sweden while the Peace Prize is awarded in Oslo, Norway. For the prize winners, it is the climax of a week of speeches, conferences and receptions. At the Nobel Prize Award Ceremony in the Stockholm Concert Hall, winners receive a medal from the King of Sweden, as well as a diploma and cash award. Today the prize is SEK 8 million ($1.1 million) for each prize category; there may be no more than three winners, or laureates, for each prize category.

Read about this year's winners here:,|research/6657/,,


For more history of the Nobel Prize and its winners, see: